Tuesday Workout

Today was weights day.  I hate weight training…I am honestly one of those people who would rather run 10 miles a day than pick up a dumbbell but cardio and strength training are both necessary.  I lift for strength training and tone.  I will post one day why I hate doing weights in the gym.

I have adjustable weight dumbbells, a yoga mat, and a Swiss ball, and a medicine ball at home so I have found that that is good enough for what I do.  I don’t know gym rat terminology so I am going to be very generic in describing my workout (hopefully I will Google what the actual exercises are called in later posts).

Today’s Circuit

  • Upper body (3 sets, 8 reps) – biceps I Upper body (3 sets, 8 reps) – shoulders
  • Lower body (3 sets, 8 reps per leg) – lower back I Lower body (3 sets, 16 reps) – legs
  • Core (3 sets, 10 reps) – abs I Core (3 sets, 20 reps) – abs
  • Cardio (3 sets, 30 jumping jacks I 3 sets, 60 high knees)
  • Upper body (6 sets, 16 reps) – triceps I Upper body (3 sets, 8 reps) – chest
  • Lower body (3 sets, 8 reps per leg) – lower back I Lower body (3 sets, 8 reps) – legs
  • Core (3 sets, 12 reps) – abs I Core (3 sets, 24 reps) – abs
  • Cardio (3 sets, 60 mountain climbers I 3 sets, 60 butt kicks)
  • Upper body (3 sets, 8 reps) – biceps I Upper body (3 sets, 8 reps) – shoulders
  • Lower body (3 sets, 30 second wall sits) – legs I Lower body (3 sets, 16 reps) – legs
  • Core (3 sets, 10 reps) – abs I Core (3 sets, 24 reps) – abs
  • Cardio (3 sets, 60 running mans I 3 sets, 60 second football shuffles)
  • Upper body (3 sets, 16 reps per arm) – triceps I Upper body (3 sets, 8 reps) – chest
  • Lower body (3 sets, 8 reps per leg) – legs I Lower body (3 sets, 8 reps) – legs
  • Core (3 sets, 20 reps per side) – abs I Core (3 sets, 10 reps) – abs
  • Cardio (1 set 30 jumping jacks, 1 set 60 high knees, 1 set 60 mountain climbers, 1 set 60 butt kicks, 1 set 60 running mans, 1 set 60 second football shuffles)

This generally takes me about 90 minutes to complete.

Leave a Reply

