Crockpot Vegetable Soup/Stew

The crockpot is one of the best things ever invented.  One of my favorite things to do is to make vegetable soup.  It’s healthy and switches up the normal way I get my vegetable intake (or I normally get even more).

I like to make vegetable soup, because a lot of times my vegetables will get close to the end of their edibility (is that even a word?).  When this happens, I bust out the crockpot and put everything in and let it do it’s work.  My recipe changes based on what vegetables I am trying to get rid of.  It is quite easy: vegetable stock, vegetables, and seasoning.  I did Google how to make vegetable soup however when I first did, so now I normally always like to have tomato juice on hand to add to the broth (also adds more nutrients).

You don’t have to use this recipe and it may not even be accurate because I really didn’t measure anything (I was just guessing).  I only have to cook for one so I know what I like.

Vegetable soup is good way to eat vegetables, because it is one of the best ways of eating cooked vegetables without losing all the nutrients.  If I am eating cooked vegetables, I normally steam them.  I never boil, because the nutrients leak out into the water and when you drain it all the nutritional value is good.  The same thing happens with soup, but the nutrients leak into the broth.  So as long as you eat the broth you’re not losing anything!  PS this was amazeeeee.

Ingredients:

  • Container of vegetable stock/broth
  • 1 cup of lima and black beans
  • 1/2 cup of quinoa
  • 1/2 a potato
  • Handful of mushrooms
  • 1 orange bell pepper
  • Green onions (I don’t know the amount…I bought them for one dressing and that was it so see ya)
  • 2ish cups of tomato juice (I used V8…normally use the spicy version too but didn’t this time)
  • 3 tomatoes
  • Handful of basil leaves

I filled the crockpot with the vegetable broth first and then started adding things I wanted to get rid of.  When the vegetables looked like they were starting to take over the broth (I really don’t know how else to describe it) I added the V8 and rest of the vegetables.  Then I added the seasoning.

Seasoning:

  • 2 splashes of apple cider vinegar
  • 1 (maybe) tablespoon of lemon juice
  • 1 (maybe) tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1/4 (maybe) cup of cornstarch (to thicken the broth)
  • 2-3 drops of honey
  • Cinnamon (a little)
  • Garlic (a lot)
  • Black pepper (a lot)
  • Nutmeg (a little)
  • Ginger (a little)
  • Cayenne (a very little)
  • Oregano (a lot)
  • Cumin (a lot)
  • 2-3 drops of honey

After that I stirred everything up (the pot was to the BRIM), set the heat to low, and went to sleep.  When I got up this morning, the kitchen smelled amazing and it was ready.  However, I like thick soups and I had been Googling some ways to thicken soup.  So I got out my blender, tore up my last whole wheat tortilla, and then I scooped up some of the soup.  I blended everything together and put it back into the crockpot.  That’s when I think when it went from soup to stew.

This was the final product.  And yes it looks just as good as it tastes…with all the vegetable goodness and zero regret.  If you’re nice to me I met let you have someone because I made enough to feel like a family of 8.

Leave a Reply

