Lunch (for half of the week): VEGETABLE SOUP

Sooooo normally at the beginning of the week (Sunday or Monday) I will prep my lunch for the week which is always a salad.  However, my salad prep only lasted until Wednesday and then I was forced to figure out what I was going to eat on Thursday AND Friday (THE HORROR!).  So I did the second “laziest” thing I could think of to do for lunch….VEGETABLE SOUP.

I loveeeee to make vegetable soup in my crockpot.  It is so simple to just throw everything in there, flavor it the way you like, and then let it cook while you are gone.  I normally like to cook things overnight so I wake up to it being ready to go and my kitchen smells amazing.

I absolutely have no idea what I put in this recipe this time.  Normally I put in vegetables that are literally hanging on to dear life or ones that I just want to get rid of.  I will recreate the recipe to the best of my ability.  It was really good and spicy.

VEGGIE SOUP WAMPAM GARREN STYLE

Vegetable/grains/beans

  • Rice
  • Barley
  • Carrots
  • Cabbage
  • Basil leaves (seriously needed to get rid of them so hard)
  • Black beans
  • Mushrooms
  • Potatoes
  • Cauliflower

Soup/broth

  • Vegetable broth (obviously)
  • Water (I had to add more to fill up the entire crockpot)
  • Miso*

*I was afraid the water would well “water down” my soup so I added miso because I have seen it added to other soup recipes on Pinterest which I love (and people in Asian countries apparently eat it all the time and they are like the skinniest race on EARTH).  I got it off Amazon and apparently it is soy paste.  Rando.  But I bought white miso (which is ironically brown) and one of coworkers was like “Is that beef broth?” and she said it with eyebrows raised because people knew I rarely ate meat especially red meat even before I went hardcore vegan and I had to let her know that I wasn’t breaking my vegan pledge.

Spices

Ugh I don’t even know where to begin so I am just going to guess because I have like SO MANY things in my cabinet

  • Rosemary
  • Thyme
  • Black pepper
  • Sea salt
  • Lemon juice
  • Parsley
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Tumeric
  • Cumin
  • Garlic powder
  • Onion powder
  • Dill weed (wait what?)

Like I said so good in healthy.  GET YOU SOMMEEEE.

 

Leave a Reply

